New user, just saying HI!

Anything that doesn't fit in another category.
eskimo karaoke

New user, just saying HI!

Post by eskimo karaoke »

Hi Karaoke fans and hosts!! My name is Shauna and I am a KJ in northwest Montana. Just wanted to introduce myself and let everyone know I'm glad I found this website!! It's nice to see real life situations discussed.

I am relatively new at hosting Karaoke, although I've helped my husband for the past six years, so I wasn't completely in the dark. He's hosted karaoke on and off for the past 15 years in our area. I was lucky this year, one of the area's longtime hosts decided to go back to school and knew that my husband and I had the equipment and offered to let me take over for her (with approval from the bar manager, of course.) She had been in this particular bar for the past 7 years and had a well-established crowd. On my slower night (Thursday) I usually have no less than 15 singers and on my busiest night, I've had up to 60 singers (Friday.) On Wednesdays and Saturdays, I average around 25-35 singers. I'm really enjoying the social aspect of working in the bar, and enjoy the break from the everyday humdrum that being a housewife brings.

I invite any of your suggestions on how to bring out a good personality (likable and not annoying) on the microphone as a host. I'm a little dry with mine and usually only let loose when it's later and the bar is slower. I actually had some people one night, who were thanking my dancers (as I had been all night) and then realized that I have a tendency to repeat myself ALOT. Good Job singer...thank you dancers....I'm actually trying to come up with different things, so again, any thoughts?

Well, I'm glad I found this and look forward to browsing all the threads and look forward to hearing from all of you!!

Shauna in Montana
aka original-eskimo

Intentional Heartache

Post by Intentional Heartache »

Welcome to the discussion board :)