What do you charge

You know you have an opinion. Express it here!
cmonroe50

What do you charge

Post by cmonroe50 »

I am just getting started. Do you charge by the hour or by the event and do you have a minimum? I thought I should charge less in the beginning until I get more expereince. Is There any kind of license involved?

Bigdog

Post by Bigdog »

Your fee will depend on many factors. As does ours.

What are you doing? Weddings, private parties, bars??

I charge by the hour for everything but bars. I have stopped doing anything but bars.

Now one thing you better do. If you are doing weddings that costs many thousands of dollars, you better have a back up plan for everything. If you use a computer, you need two. (NOT MAYBE) Two hard drives and anything else that can fail. You do not want to be sued for the cost of a $10-15-20,000 reception because you ruined everything by not providing the entertainment you contracted to provide. Only two things can ruin a wedding. Bad food or bad DJ.

This is one reason I stopped doing parties and weddings. Too much resposibility. I have everything backed up. But I don't like DJing and since I switched to computer, I don't have any DJ music on it. Like I said I don't want to do any of them anymore.

Bars get a straight price for 4 hours. This price is less because I look at these as my bread and butter steady income.

A bar job for me = $10,000 a year.

I do strictly karaoke all night long in a bar. Nothing else. No Djing of any kind.

Doing any kind of private party or a wedding, DJing will be a requirement with your karaoke. No DJing will cause a riot and you won't get any kind of a good recommendation for other parties.

Price also is based on how good you are.

How good your equipment is.

How well you know how to use it.

How current your music is.

How good your competition is.

What I charge and what I am worth are two different things. Because of a saturation of crappy KJs the fee I can charge is reduced.