karaoke mixer/amp/player HELP!!

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
phoebequeenbee

karaoke mixer/amp/player HELP!!

Post by phoebequeenbee »

Right then I am new to all this so please bear with me, could anyone suggest the best set up for an all round karaoke system please. I have my big bose speakers mounted in all 4 corners of my room and I have been using an ancient sony stack system as my surround sound while connecting my (nearly as ancient) karaoke machine to it, I then plug my laptop into the karaoke machine if I need to use karafun instead of my cdg discs it all works just fine, however I'm at the point where I want to achieve a quality sound while singing and not compromising, I'll be using a sm58 for vocals and its no good having a good mic if the system I'm using is below par. So basically all I need to know is there a karaoke player/mixer amp thats not too expensive but does the job I need it to. I have so many cables and wires connecting all of my things together and its getting me down even looking at it. Any advice is welcome thanks.

mnementh

Post by mnementh »

Hi there,
first, welcome to the madhouse.

Second, I'm not sure if you're in the correct section for your needs as it seems to me you're more looking for hardware advice, rather than a scenario situation.

However and I DO sympathise with you, Re. all your various multiplicity of cables and wonder if a simple re-think is what's needed.

I think you'll find that most serious KJ's will look on your system as being fairly unsuitable for Karaoke in the first place so perhaps a smaller, dedicated kit might be your answer.

If you're simply singing in your room (you don't say how big it is, by the way), you're not going to need a monster mixer/amp chucking out terrawatts of sound. In fact, too loud will have shrieking feedback as your main problem.