What do I need for a basic karaoke system?

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
Unlimited MP3+G Downloads
tiptop20133

What do I need for a basic karaoke system?

Post by tiptop20133 »

My question is very basic. Could you pls help me?

I want to sing karaoke on my television. I found that there are some streaming karaoke apps that can be played on my television.

So is this enough:

A mixer like Allen & Heath ZED-10FX or Mackie 402VLZ4

A wireless microphone

A pair of powered (active) speakers

Is that all I need to connect to my television?

Thank you for your advice.

Nita G

Re: What do I need for a basic karaoke system?

Post by Nita G »

I have one question.... does your system have mids for your vocals? I have been doing karaoke (both as business and at home) for at least 20 years now. I believe I've used it all.... karaoke players (included are a couple all in one systems that even had speaker in unit, I used as rental for my singers to take home and practice), laser disc players, cd+g disc players, and ones that will play vcds... back when I was playing discs. I have also used 3 different regular band type power mixers, even added a separate little mixer to mix my mics... I wore the first unit out, it was a Yamaha powermixer (I think 400 watt), very good.. the next one was good but not as good as the first one... but now I feel I have hit the jack-pot... about 3 yrs ago I purchased a Yamaha system.. it is the Yamaha i600, with 2 lightweight 300 watt speakers, stands & bags to carry it all... it has everything I want... I have several singers who are musicians and songwriters, they bring me their smart phones with their originals so I can play their songs, this system also has a usb input and mini plug input for them... this is awesome. this system has 4 mic inputs with treb., mids, and base... and 3 for instruments or other inputs like my computer... and one main volume, but each channel has it's own adjustments and gains