Adding Karaoke to existing Home Theater Equipment

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
How to Build a Home Karaoke System
shoude369

Adding Karaoke to existing Home Theater Equipment

Post by shoude369 »

I’m fairly new to the Karaoke world so I’m hoping to leverage the experience and advice of this forum. I’ve read through most posts and have not been able to find exactly what I’m looking for yet. Here is what I am trying to do…..
I have a very extensive home theater and I want to add the ability to run karaoke when we have house parties. I’m researching feasible options before I go and purchase anything. To the best of my knowledge and research, here is what I am proposing. I would love to know if this arrangement would work, or if there are better alternatives. Also, I am not looking for a standalone machine. I want it integrated into my rack mounted home theater system...
Wireless Mic – (GTD Audio G-622H 200 Channel UHF Professional Wireless microphone Mic System). I plan on running XLR from each channel’s output to the mixer.
Mixer – (Yamaha MG10XU 10-Input Stereo Mixer with Effects) or (Yamaha MG06X 6-Input Compact Stereo Mixer with Effects). As far as I can tell the major difference between the two, other than input ports, is USB. I’ve read a lot on this forum about the merits of USB versus using the laptops onboard phone jack/sound card. Please provide your recommendations and reasons.