connection cables from laptop to power amp

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
intrudermcm

connection cables from laptop to power amp

Post by intrudermcm »

Hi All I am new to this kind of tech and I don't have a clue what to get to hook my laptop to my power amp along with all the rest of the things you have to install and connect. any help will be great. I only do Karaoke for personal use and for just plain fun but I have read some of the post about this but its hard to understand somtimes, I know I sound lost but thats why I need all the help I can get. Thanks a bunch for any and all help

Bigdog

Post by Bigdog »

What kind of power amp? Name and model number.

Do you have microphones and other things to connect too?
mnementh

Post by mnementh »

I assume your amp comes with a user manual?

The first step would be to have a look through that, as they usually have basic configuration set ups in them.

However, the laptop connection is unlikely to be in there and you really just need to identify which amp input connectors you want to use with the laptop as a source.

Most amps will have any or all of the following input types;

1) RCA phono sockets (think standard audio equipment cables)

2) 1/4" jack sockets (think guitar connecting cables or microphones)

3) XLR sockets (think professional audio and many wired microphones)

Of these, by far and away the easiest tp connect a laptop with is option 1), the RCA phono inputs.

You'll need to get a stereo 3.5mm jack to twin RCA phono plug cable of suitable length.

These are readily available on Ebay at a couple of Dollars. The other two options, not so easy to source.

A word of caution, by the way, prior to connecting your laptop.

DO REMEMBER to go into the audio setup of the laptop and turn off the standard Windows audio option or you'll have all the annoying bings and beeps of the laptop blaring through your speakers while the PC boots up and opens programs, etc.