Sports bars suck!!!!

Anything that doesn't fit in another category.
spotlightjr

Sports bars suck!!!!

Post by spotlightjr »

Sorry for the rant..... but I just fired a venue for giving me the run-a-round for the last month or so and it really has me pi$$ed off.
There is a sports bar about 20 minutes from where I live and I've been doing karaoke there for about 2 years with pretty much no problems or complaints. Well, they recently opened a second location about 3 minutes from me and I was called to do karaoke.
When I originally spoke with the manager he mentioned doing Tuesday nights from 9:30pm to 1:00 am. It was going to be hospitality/karaoke night for the service industry which I thought was a great idea. He was going to come up with some specials, etc. and get back with me before we did the first gig. Needless to say, after 3or 4 phone calls and countless e-mails I couldn't get him to return any calls. I show up the first Tuesday night for the gig and nobody there knows what the heck is going on. No biggie. I set up and wind up having a pretty decent night. I had about twenty people in rotation (mostly my friends) and we rocked the place.
Douche bag manager calls me the next day and says we did decent numbers and I am of the belief he is pretty happy. He runs off a small laundry list of specials for next Tuesday night and that's it.
Next Tuesday night I show up with gear in hand and he says that we're gonna have to cancel karaoke tonight because of the basketball playoffs. I am totally pi$$ed and he knows it. I ask him why he couldn't call to let me know and he apologizes up and down, blah blah blah and pays me the 100.00 setup fee I charge for cancellations (in my contracts).