Laptop Karaoke or Professional System Karaoke?

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
Katya

Laptop Karaoke or Professional System Karaoke?

Post by Katya »

Hi, I am new in karaoke and have a question. My bosses want to open a Karaoke bar with very good sound. They looked into professional karaoke systems like Karaoke Evolution and AST-88, but these systems have very poor software and it seems that there is no way to integrate any other software with them. So, the question is whether it is possible to set up digital karaoke system with really quality sound which will be competitive to these systems sound and what would be approximate cost of all the solution? Is it possible to achieve good professional sound with any of available laptop soundcards? Thank you in advance.

DanG2006

Post by DanG2006 »

If you want professional sound out of a laptop then you want to get a usb card for your computer.
I use one and it made a lot of difference between it and the audio out built into the laptop.
You'll like a laptop over the ones you mentioned because you can dj as well as run karaoke off of the laptop. Before you mentioned the two units I had never heard of them and I am leary of loaded units now that manufacturers of karaoke content are now suing those that don't have discs to back up what they sold you. What happens if your system crashes will they include the songs when they replace your unit. Can you add songs to the unit that they don't possess or are you stuck with what they have available.
with a laptop you aren't limited to just one manufacturer's songs.
How to Build a Home Karaoke System
Bigdog

Post by Bigdog »

Good quality sound doesn't come from any single piece of equipment.
:shock:
It's all of them added together.

Meaning if you don't have a good sound card and good speakers and good mixers and good microphones you won't have good sound.

Professional sounding karaoke PA sound systems are not cheap.