Buying a new system

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
Babs

Buying a new system

Post by Babs »

:D I have been doing karaoke for 8 months now. I have a gig in a medium sized bar, working 3 nights a week. I'm looking to buy a whole new system. The one I use now is a hand me down system. It is a nice system, but has seen better days.

I'm looking to spend any where between $2000 - $4000. I would love some advice on what you all think is the best system to invest in. The Vocopro name pops up a lot when I search the web. I'm not afraid to piece together the system to save money, but would like to keep it as portable as possible without giving up quality. I don't plan on keeping my old system at all.

wiseguy
Site Admin

Post by wiseguy »

I've owned and operated a karaoke company for over 15 years and have put together quite a few systems. From my experience these are my suggestions.

The Pioneer PD-V10G Dual Tray is the most dependable CDG player on the market. Has all the needed features and loads discs very fast.

The Mackie 406M Powered Mixer and the Peavey XR696F Powered Mixer are both great for karaoke.

My favorite speakers are the JBL MP215 MPro and the SoundTech ST15RX

The AKG WMS80 UHF Handheld Wireless microphones out perform the Shure mics in my opinion.

I've tried out some VocoPro systems and found them lacking in professional quality. I think they are better suited for home use.
Babs

Post by Babs »

Thank you so much for your reply-
Very helpfull
It is interesting you posted about a wireless mic - I was under the impression wireless mics work poorly in an enviroment with a lot of neon - What is your experience?
Babs

Post by Babs »

I just purchased the Pioneer PD-V10G. It was $318 plus shipping at www.bestag.com
It seems that Pioneer is discontinuing the product. It was hard to find. I'm hoping I don't get a reply from the company that they are out of stock.
wiseguy
Site Admin

Post by wiseguy »