digital or CDG system

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
Babs

digital or CDG system

Post by Babs »

I'm having a tough time deciding to go with a digital system or not.

I already started buying hardware for a CDG system which I can send back if I change my mind. If I buy all the CDGs I want I'm looking at spending $2000 just on discs. If I go with the digital system I'm getting 10,000 songs or more already programmed into the player. I'm just beginning to learn about the digital system from looking at websites. If you recommend I go digital, what systems do you suggest? The Viper and vocopro names pop up a lot. What do I need to know about this kind of system? This is driving me half crazy.

wiseguy
Site Admin

Post by wiseguy »

To start with, the Viper is a self contained CDG system and VocoPro does not make a digital system. Don't be in a hurry to send back the hardware you have ordered. The only difference between a CDG and a digital system is the player. If you can possibly go with a digital system then you definitely should. It is the future of karaoke and, in the not so distant future, very few KJ's will be using discs.

Some advantages of a digital system:
No discs to transport, handle, store, and become damaged.
New songs may be instantly downloaded from the internet (saving shipping).
More control over the songs you buy as you can select them individually.

There are two types of digital systems. The "digital karaoke machine" is a player that contains a hard drive where all the songs are stored. The songs are downloaded into the player from your computer via a linking cable. Instead of loading discs into this player you simply punch in the number of the song. This is the easiest to use digital system. At present, the CAVS company is the only manufacturer of this type of player. Check them out at http://www.cavs-usa.com .