Dual Display Graphic Card

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
How to Build a Home Karaoke System
auditboy41598

Dual Display Graphic Card

Post by auditboy41598 »

I'm new to the Karaoke world and I am setting up everything on a hard drive. I tried to work with winamp as my hosting software, but I'm having a problem with displaying the lyrics on the tv without intefering with the singer.

What I'm currently viewing is me working to sort the songs and this is interfering with the display on the tv. I want to make sure I have this... Once I purchase a "dual display graphic card" this will alow me to sort, prepare the next singer,prepare the next with interfering with main display? I can operate the two monitors separately?

Thank you for taking the time. Also, I just purchased a toshiba satellite laptop if this helps at all.

:roll:

wiseguy
Site Admin

Post by wiseguy »

You definitely need a dual display graphics card to display your work area on one monitor and the singer's screen on another. I don't know if Winamp supports dual display like most of the karaoke "hoster" applications do.
auditboy

Post by auditboy »

This helps a lot. Thank you. Would you happen to the best place to purchase a Dual Video Card? and what would be your recommendation for the hosting software that supports Dual Video?

Thanks again for your time
wiseguy
Site Admin

Post by wiseguy »

Would you happen to the best place to purchase a Dual Video Card? and what would be your recommendation for the hosting software that supports Dual Video?
To get the best price on a graphics card you should search on one of the price comparison sites like www.nextag.com . Do a search on "dual display graphic card" and look for one with at least 64MB memory. Prices start at about $60.00.