Hi, I'm a noob - Need Help

Your comments, questions, or opinions on any karaoke related hardware.
meowCat

Hi, I'm a noob - Need Help

Post by meowCat »

I'm a noob..

I have no knowledge in Karaoke hardware and setups.

I'm trying to help with my parents to setup an audio system that will support Karaoke.

The *primary* use is going to be for audio listening(i.e. classical and some pop).
The *secondary* use is going to be Karaoke.

They want good quality sound, and do not need more than 200W output power.

Right now they have no speakers and no receivers...

I will be buying them a receiver and speakers. They will purchase the Karaoke equipment. I was planning to go with some Yamaha receiver, CD player, and Bose Acoutimass 5-series speakers(it's a stero, not surround).

My question is, is it better off to purchase a receiver that supports Karaoke function or get a Karaoke-dedicated receiver/mixer..

Also, can the Karaoke mixer be connected to a standard audio receiver? How does all this work? I don't know... help please..

Basically, they need something that's good mainly for audio and supports Karaoke. What are your recommendations?

wiseguy
Site Admin

Post by wiseguy »

Welcome to the karaoke forum meowCat!

The "multi-format" karaoke players hook up to your receiver and TV just like a DVD player would. Pretty straight forward and uncomplicated. These players will play standard DVD discs, karaoke DVD discs, karaoke CD+G discs, as well as standard audio CDs. They have microphone inputs and controls on the front panel. Two popular, and inexpensive, models are the RSQ DVD-303DCK and the Vocostar DVG-399K.