Gonna START the Business!!!

Anything that doesn't fit in another category.
fong

Gonna START the Business!!!

Post by fong »

I've been comming around for some time and really have come across some really great information. You guys are great and very knowledgable. And I think its finally time to stop thinking about doing it, and JUST JUMP IN and GET 'R' DONE!!!

I'm from Charlotte, NC, and I want to run a Successful Karaoke Business just like some of you veterans. The only thing is I have very little knowledge about hardware, software and licensing. The rest I'm sure, with some elbow grease, and persaverance. I'll make it happen.

I need your HELP...And I'd like to thank you in Advance, because I know how you guys are on this board...

After reading some on this site, I've decided that I wanted to go with a Laptop Base system as opposed to CD's...But where do I get the music, and how much do they cost? What are the pro's and con's

And Second, (legal stuff)

Do I really need to get a license for playing these songs? If so, where would I go? Do I need a business license, for tax purposes? Do I need to start some tyoe of LLC or something?

Third, (pricing)

I've been researching and calling around for KJ fees, and it looks like they're charging around $500 for 4 hrs...Is that @ fair market value? Or too much? I just need 3-4 gigs a week @ $250-$300 a night...

Fourth, (Gear)

What do you use and what would you recommend me to purchase? How much capital did it take you to get your business running?

Guys, I thank you again in advance :) Please any information relative to above or any background on how you got your business ROCKIN will be GREATLY appreciative...THanks Again :)

Bigdog

Post by Bigdog »

$500 a night??? :shock: :o

I'd quit my day job in a heartbeat.... :lol:

Yeeeee haaaa.... :idea: I'm moving to Charlotte.

Is that in The Hilton or the Playboy Club or the King of Englands wedding?? :wink:

My initial investment was $20,000.