New to business - system power.

Anything that doesn't fit in another category.
How to Build a Home Karaoke System
karaokebob13

New to business - system power.

Post by karaokebob13 »

Hello all,
I'm just getting into the karaoke business and I'm shopping around for a professional system. How many watts of power would be recommended for rooms from 1000 to 1500 ft^2 or so? ...300w?, ...600w?, ...1000w? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

letitrip

Post by letitrip »

Personally, I wouldn't go any smaller than 600W (300W/Channel). Ideally, I'd say go with at least 1000W. The thing is, 600W would cover a room like what you've described, however you'd be pushing the system to close to 100%. That's not good, what you want is what is referred to as head room. Unlike a car's engine which typically runs it's best at a higher RPM (think horsepower curve) and amplifier's performance deteriorates as you push it closer and closer to it's max. As the output level of your amp goes up, more and more harmonic distortion is introduced. This is not good for your speakers (and ultimately not the amp either).

So the goal would be to get a system that has the capability to fill a much larger room and then run it at a lower output level. For instance, I have a 1400W system that I use in most clubs (that's my 2-ways without the subs). Most of the time, I'm running it between 25-40%. This allows me to keep the amplifier running efficiently and producing optimum sound.

Also as you look at this stuff, remember if you amplifier has a max rating of 300W per channel, your speakers should have an RMS rating of 150W (300W Program and 600W Peak). The rule of thumb is your amp should have a max rating around double the RMS rating of your speakers. This again ensures head room and minimal distorition. It's that distortion that will blow your high-end drivers.
Let It Rip Karaoke
DJ Tony
http://www.letitripkaraoke.com
Bigdog

Post by Bigdog »