Karaoke Try-Outs

Anything that doesn't fit in another category.
Bigdog

Karaoke Try-Outs

Post by Bigdog »

Have you ever been told by a bar owner that he was having karaoke try-outs?

Basically he is going to bring in different KJs to try-out for the job. Each will play a couple weeks to see how big their crowd is.

Do you/will you do try-outs?

Would you tell them take me now or I'm not coming back?

I have mixed feelings about this subject.

On one hand, it's their bar and they basically have the say about who gets hired and fired.

On the other, I work for a living. Not on job promises. I'll hire you in 6 weeks or whenever. Playing around with try-outs isn't in my best interest unless I get the job. While the try-out is in progress, you could have been hired at other places that really want you. Missed opportunities won't fill my wallet.

What if while it's the next guys turn and you're twiddling your thumbs another job comes up and you decide to take it. Then you get a call from the try-out guy and he wants you because you were the best? And he might pay you more money. Do you give them the old..."You had your chance?"

Sabrina59

Post by Sabrina59 »

Wow. That would put a person in a predicament. I guess I would look at it along the lines of an interview. Just because I have interviewed with a company, and felt it went well, doesn't mean I'll stop looking for work.

If I find a job in the meantime, and you call me for work, you better be offering me more money, be much closer to home, or some other perk to make me quit the job I just accepted and go with your offer.

I think I'd go with the "You snooze, you lose" line. You missed your opportunity to hire the best ... now deal with it. Of course, I would word it much more professionally. :) You don't want to burn any bridges.
Sabrina the Cat
Unlimited MP3+G Downloads
mnementh

Post by mnementh »